Primary Years

Pupils in this category range from 6 to 11 years and are distributed as follows:

Grade 1: 6 years

Grade 2: 7 years

Grade 3: 8 years

Grade 4: 9 years

Grade 5: 10 years

Grade 6: 11 years

This is the first formal level of education, the first tranche of the 6-3-3-4 system. Subjects here, in line with the current national subject classification, include: English Studies; Mathematics; Basic Science and Technology; Religion and National Values; Cultural and Creative Arts; French; and Pre-Vocational Studies.

The whole essence of this level is to prepare pupils for the secondary level of education.